Get the latest Alliance news sent to your inbox - Sign Up to our Newsletter

Real Companhia Velha, Portugal

The iconic Real Companhia Velha is the oldest wine company in Portugal, with a history of over 260 years of port production.

Founded in 1756 by the Portuguese Prime Minister Sebastião José de Carvalho e Melo, Marquis of Pombal (called Douro Wine Company back then) to regulate the trade and production of all Port wine. One of the first official duties of the company was the delineation of the boundaries of the Douro wine region. This act essentially made the Douro the world's first regional appellation. Today this company represents some of the finest Quintas in the Douro. Prestigious and experienced, they have been able to preserve and honour the traditional winemaking while investing in the future with constant modernisation and experimentation in their vineyards.


Overarching some of best Quintas in the Douro, they have been able to preserve and honour the tradition of winemaking while investing in the future, with constant modernisation and experimentation at their vineyards. Real Companhia Velha are very proud to announce that they been granted the first “Sustainable Winegrowing Certification” by APCER - the leading Portuguese accreditation institution, following the internationally recognised standard of sustainable viticulture created by IVV and ViniPortugal - Portugal’s wine sector governing and promotional bodies. This is an official recognition of the sustainable practices which Real Companhia Velha has implemented over the years, particularly in the vineyard and has been scored with grade A – the highest level of sustainability demonstrating the company's commitment to preserving the environment.

  • Over centuries they have developed a reputation for its outstanding blending and ageing skills which express themselves in the company's wines and ports, in particular the renowned aged tawny port.
  • Iconic, prestigious and innovative: 260 years of winemaking experience in the Douro.
  • Some vineyards dating back to 1759.